Nikel's sketchbook
Hey everyone, this is my first post on crimson daggers!

I quit my day job about a year ago to focus on my true passion. I use traditional media to paint and draw, and I am hoping to find some constructive input on my art so that I can improve. 

Here is one I am about finished with currently. It's 32"x18" oil on canvas. I am new to this and a bit shy, but I can take constructive criticism, so have at it!

Attached Files Image(s)

Hey welcome to the forums. This looks great! It seems the highlights on her right leg and lower abdomen are too large and strong, which flattens the forms. Personally I feel that the white floor/lower background creates too much contrast and takes attention away from the face/main focal area. Perhaps making it blend in with the top half with more red and orange could be an idea. Keep up the great work, looking forward to see what else you post!

(04-12-2019, 04:17 PM)ubem Wrote: Hey welcome to the forums. This looks great! It seems the highlights on her right leg and lower abdomen are too large and strong, which flattens the forms. Personally I feel that the white floor/lower background creates too much contrast and takes attention away from the face/main focal area. Perhaps making it blend in with the top half with more red and orange could be an idea. Keep up the great work, looking forward to see what else you post!

Thank you, I appreciate the advice and I will make those changes! I am pretty new to oil painting so I'm hoping I can pull off blending in the new background area with the rest now that it's dry. I have very little experience with backgrounds and painting/color in general and I'd like to get better at creating depth and using light and colors consistently. 

I really enjoy your work, you use light and color masterfully and your brush strokes are very successful! I see strengths in your work that I'd like to move toward so I really appreciate your critique.