Rye's sketchbook
Hi guys! I'm studying animation and I also love drawing/painting so I'm kinda trying to get better at everything at once. Comments and crits are greatly appreciated!! 

Study of the day, tried to concentrate on values/ brush economy, because I really need to work on both;

Some Leyendecker hand studies I did a while; (hands are still something I need to work on)

Some environment studies I did, I really want to get better at perspective/ environment drawing

And a background for a school assignment >w<

Last one have really good vibe in it. I like the style. About first face. Values are off, lets say...Her bottom lip is dark, yes but if u check it with picker. For example u used values of 20% brightness on lips and 40% on her left cheek. When in reallity it is almost the same values around 40%. And 20% is reeaaaaalllyyy alot :)

Try to think more about how one thing looks in comparision to other. Beside that, try to use soft and hard brush. Sometimes shadows are hard, and sometimes they are soft. If its hard for u to know where you should use darker or lighter shadow, try to do grid on her face ( like in 3d model) and think how it bounce light

https://olihoff.files.wordpress.com/2010...lines.jpeg
(12-18-2015, 08:14 PM)seppoday Wrote: Last one have really good vibe in it. I like the style. About first face. Values are off, lets say...Her bottom lip is dark, yes but if u check it with picker. For example u used values of 20% brightness on lips and 40% on her left cheek. When in reallity it is almost the same values around 40%. And 20% is reeaaaaalllyyy alot :)

Try to think more about how one thing looks in comparision to other. Beside that, try to use soft and hard brush. Sometimes shadows are hard, and sometimes they are soft. If its hard for u to know where you should use darker or lighter shadow, try to do grid on her face ( like in 3d model) and think how it bounce light

https://olihoff.files.wordpress.com/2010...lines.jpeg